6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001


Basic Peace Officer Course No. 95 (full-time, day)

The Basic Peace Officer Course is designed to meet the initial training requirements mandated by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) for becoming a Certified Texas Peace Officer and to prepare students to take the State's Peace Officer Licensing Exam.

Subjects are taught by TCOLE Certified Peace Officers to meet standardized objectives and to prepare students for the realities of working as a peace officer. Many subjects are taught in an academic setting, while others are taught as 'hands-on' practical lessons.  This is a 6.5 month, full-time, police training academy which runs from 7 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Thursday. This '4/10' schedule is intended to promote using less fuel during the weekly commute, to provide more study time for cadets, and to emulate a 10-hour work schedule used by most law enforcement agencies.

See information below about the required Entrance Exam scheduled for May 7th, 2021.

September 13, 2021, 7:00am –
March 30, 2022, 5:00pm

Cost: $2800.00



CAPCOG Staff & Guest Instructors

Special Instructions:

**A PC will be required for this class.

Agency-Sponsored Cadets: Agency sponsored students are exempt from taking the entrance exam. Please email your full name and phone number; your supervisor's first and last name, email address, and the name of your sponsoring agency to bpoc@capcog.org. You will need to attend a mandatory seminar. You will be contacted via email regarding dates and times. During the seminar you will be given additional information and required documents. The deadline for turning in all the required documents and tuition will be discussed during the seminar.

Prospective self-sponsored cadets are required to take the entrance exam and complete a personal history statement. CAPCOG will conduct the entrance exams for BPOC #95 at 1:15 p.m. on Fri May 7th and Fri June 4th, 2021. 

> Register to take the entrance exam or find more details about the exam.


BPOC Tuition: Agency sponsored students will pay a tuition of $2,200 and $100  for course materials ($2300). Self-sponsored students will pay a tuition of $2,700 plus $100 in course materials ($2800). Applicants outside the CAPCOG ten-county region — Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis, and Williamson counties — will pay an additional $300 in tuition.

Tuition Refund: If a prospective cadet requests a refund, a processing fee of $100 will be charged to the cadet. No refunds or partial refunds will be made, under any circumstances, on or after the first day of class. Tuition collected for the BPOC may not be carried forward and applied to other BPOC courses. Students are not reimbursed any portion of the tuition if they are terminated from the course once the course has begun. If a tuition payment is made by someone other than the prospective cadet, and a refund is requested, the tuition will go back to the party who paid tuition. If the tuition is paid with a credit card, the refund will be credited back to that credit card. CAPCOG will terminate any student for failure to complete the BPOC tuition’s payment.

CAPCOG does not accept GI Bills and does not finance tuition payments.


Capital Area Council of Governments - Mesquite Conference Room
6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, CAPCOG Training Center
Austin, Texas 78744

For Questions:
Contact Terri Kroeger, CAPCOG RLEA office coordinator, at tkroeger@capcog.org or 512-916-6160.

Course ID: 30952

  • This class is coming soon.
Print this page

Cancel Registration

CAPCOG reserves the right to cancel a class that does not meet the minimum number of registered attendees at least seven business days before the class start date. In those circumstances, CAPCOG will provide a full refund. Students who wish to cancel their registration must cancel online or notify CAPCOG in writing (via email or fax) at least seven business days prior to the course date in order to receive a refund. There will be a $10 administrative fee for processing the refund.

"No shows" and student cancellations made less than seven business days prior to the start of class may be charged the full course fee. Partial attendance will not be permitted for any of the courses.

I need to cancel