6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 165
Austin, TX 78744

T:  (512) 916-6000
F: (512) 916-6001


Close

De-Escalation Techniques: Limiting the Use of Force in Public Interaction, TCOLE # 1849

This course improves officers’ response to incidents involving people in crisis who are behaving erratically. It emphasizes public and officer safety while teaching tactical de-escalation to reduce the intensity of an encounter with a suspect. The training enables officers with additional options for voluntary compliance and to mitigate the need for a higher level of force while they maintain control of the situation.

Mandated with the passage of the Sandra Bland Act (SB 1849) by the Texas Legislature in 2017, officers with only a basic proficiency certificate are now required to obtain 8-hours of TCOLE approved de-escalation training every 48-months. This class is also required for officers who wish to obtain either an Intermediate or Advanced certificate.

Date/Time:
June 1, 2020, 8:00am – 5:00pm

Cost: $35.00
Hours: 8

Topic:

Audience:

Instructor:
Roger Floyd

Special Instructions:

Attendee must bring their PID # to receive TCOLE credit for courses affiliated with CAPCOG.

To promote a professional environment, CAPCOG requires proper business attire. T-shirts, shorts, capri pants, and flip flops are prohibited.  No meals provided with training.

Location:

Capital Area Council of Governments - Lantana Room
6800 Burleson Road
Building 310, Suite 155
Austin, Texas 78744

For Questions:
Please contact Terri Kroeger at tkroeger@capcog.org or call 512-916-6160.

Course ID: 28459

Register Now

Deadline:
May 25, 2020

There are 30 seats remaining

Print this page

Cancel Registration

CAPCOG reserves the right to cancel a class that does not meet the minimum number of registered attendees at least seven business days before the class start date. In those circumstances, CAPCOG will provide a full refund. Students who wish to cancel their registration must cancel online or notify CAPCOG in writing (via email or fax) at least seven business days prior to the course date in order to receive a refund. There will be a $10 administrative fee for processing the refund.

"No shows" and student cancellations made less than seven business days prior to the start of class may be charged the full course fee. Partial attendance will not be permitted for any of the courses.

I need to cancel